St Joseph's University, 36, Lalbagh Road, Bengaluru-560027, Karnataka, India.
A Public-Private-Partnership University under RUSA 2.0 of MHRD (Government of India), established by the Karnataka Govt. Act No. 24 of 2021
Department Banner

Department of Political Science

The BA degree programme was started in erstwhile St Joseph’s College, in the year 1926. The students were admitted to BA programme in July 1926. Fr J Argaunt, Principal of the College during the years (1924-1926), played a key role in the introduction of BA programme.

During the early 1920s, different subjects were taught under the nomenclature of History, Economics, Political Science and Logic. All these subjects were under the Department of Social Sciences. The Department of Social Sciences was headed by a single professor for a long time. The last professor to hold such a position was Prof S Asirvatham. The Department system came into existence only in the year 1962, with each Department headed by a professor. The Department of Political Science came into existence the same year.

The Department of Political Science during the last ninety-five years has been served by eminent  Professors like PM Francis, Michael, S Clement, Balakrishna, Dr Benny Peters, Fr Ambrose Pinto SJ, Fr Francis D’Almeda SJ, Prof Jerome Nirmal Raj and many others. Dr Benny Peters secured PhD degree in the year 1993 and has the unique honor of being the first PhD holder to teach in the Humanities section.



To create a community of learning and to develop knowledge and understanding of Politics guided by concerns of people and the natural environment.


The programmes in Political Science aim to:

  •  Ensure students of Political Science acquire knowledge and understanding of appropriate areas of theory
  •  Enable students to understand and use concepts, approaches and methods of the discipline
  •  Develop in students a capacity to think critically about events, ideas and institutions
  •  Cultivate skills aimed at understanding and comprehending complex issues
  •  Create a learning environment that is receptive to the needs and views of students
  •  Provide opportunities and prepare students for higher learning

Message from DEAN

Mr Clement D'Souza

Message from DEAN

Greetings and a warm welcome from the School of Humanities!

The School of Humanities, under St Joseph’s University was created to provide learning spaces, with 7 departments and an associate department, the Department of Physical Education. Of the 7 departments, 5 departments have antecedent of more than 140 years in contributing to the motto of the Institution 'Fide et Labore'- meaning faith and toil.

As a stakeholder remotely or distantly you may be interested to know about School of Humanities and the Departments with the School. This message of mine provides you a glimpse of how we instil passion for excellence that helps our students to create a better tomorrow.

Do you know what inspiration, motivation, encouragement, and enthusiasm have in common? These are all without price tags, which are always provided at the School of Humanities both within and beyond classroom and the result being the students who graduated from this School emerge as a different person – more mature, shaped and inspired.

As the Dean, School of Humanities, I’m proud to say that all my colleagues both Associate and Assistant Professors are always ready with passion to inspire hope among the students; they eagerly help the students to ignite their imagination, and instil love of learning. Our Associate and Assistant Professors set the tone of their classrooms-they build a warm environment, mentor and nurture the students.

Along with the professors, students are helped by amazing group of Mentors, and this will make the School of Humanities a second home for the graduating students.

Each Department in the School has academic associations and also non-academic associations which help the students in character formation and also career mapping.

Students who wish to join our School, rest assured we will support you in every step of your formation years of 3/ 4-year UG programme or 1/ 2 years of PG programme and also the Research programme. Your academic success and wellbeing are as important to us, as they are to you.

Opportunities provided in the School of Humanities, St Josephs University, Bengaluru, is more than a pathway to a Degree; it is a pathway to discover the purpose of life.

Good wishes on your journey at the School of Humanities.

Warm regards,

Mr Clement D'Souza

Dean, School of Humanities


SL. No. Name of the Supervisor Designation Area of Specialisation PhD Scholars
1 Dr Neil Tannen Lincoln Assistant Professor

Area of Specialisation

  • Distributive Politics
  • Political Party & Regime Analysis
  • Patronage Politics
  • Electoral Politics
  • Political Methodology 
  • Political Economy
  • Religion & Politics
  • Democracy Studies 
  • Policy Studies & Policy Sciences
  • Quantitative Political Research


2 Dr Paul Newman Associate Professor



PHD Scholars

Name of Research Scholar Date of Enrollment for Coursework at SJU Area of Research Title of the Thesis (Provisional) Link to the Profile of the Supervisor Status of the Thesis
NOYINGBENI ODYUO 16-01-2024 Political Science Political Science In Coursework
ABDUL REHMAN 10-07-2023 West Asia West Asia,-Peace-and-Public-Policy/NTcx In Coursework
EDBERG D CHEERAN 10-07-2023 Politics and Security in Eurasia Politics and Security in Eurasia,-Peace-and-Public-Policy/NTcx In Coursework

Research Fellows

Update soon.

Visiting Researchers

Update soon.

Post-Doctoral Researcher

Update soon.

All rights reserved © 2023 St Joseph's University, Bengaluru