St Joseph's University, 36, Lalbagh Road, Bengaluru-560027, Karnataka, India.
A Public-Private-Partnership University under RUSA 2.0 of MHRD (Government of India), established by the Karnataka Govt. Act No. 24 of 2021
School of

Physical Sciences

Departments in
School of Physical Sciences

Message from the Dean


“Wonder why I wonder

Why wonder? I wonder..”


We believe that this sense of wonderment, thirst for knowledge and wisdom is innate to all human beings. This forms the cornerstone of the philosophy of the School of Physical Sciences that comprises of the Departments of Physics, Mathematics, Electronics and Statistics of the St. Joseph’s University. We use these subjects as our tools to nurture logical reasoning ability, a sense of wonderment and scientific temper among our students.

The Department of Mathematics has nearly a century of history, being one of the first science departments to be started in the erstwhile St. Joseph’s College (now St. Joseph’s University). The youngest department in this school is the Department of Statistics. All these departments, however, are at the forefront of knowledge creation and dissemination in their respective fields. Many of the teachers are active researchers in diverse fields like Astrophysics, Number Theory, Markov Chains, Internet of Things etc. Our faculty members are sought after by other institutes and departments as resource persons for various teacher training programmes, conferences, seminars and workshops. Some of them are part of the Board of Studies of other universities and colleges, as we believe that together we can grow.

Our alumni and alumnae are spread far and wide around the globe. Some of them are eminent scientists, researchers and entrepreneurs in India and abroad. Some others are delivering yeomen service for the upliftment of the poor and downtrodden the world over. We are proud of all of them and of the fact that they are all true Josephites, upholding the motto of our university Fide et Labore (Faith and Toil).

We welcome all of you to be a part of this great adventure at the School of Physical Sciences…

— Dr Rabbi Akkiba Angiras

Dean, School of Physical Sciences

St Joseph’s University

All rights reserved © 2023 St Joseph's University, Bengaluru