St Joseph's University, 36, Lalbagh Road, Bengaluru-560027, Karnataka, India.
A Public-Private-Partnership University under RUSA 2.0 of MHRD (Government of India), established by the Karnataka Govt. Act No. 24 of 2021
Department Banner

Department of Sociology

The Undergraduate Department of Sociology was started in the year 1959. It was initially offered with Economics and Political Science, and Economics and Industrial Relations under the Triple Major Scheme. With the introduction of the New Education Policy, Sociology is offered in BA under the double major scheme with Economics, Political Science, and History.

A subject in much demand for aspirants of Civil Services, the papers offered are of much use for students aspiring for higher studies and a career in Civil Services, Social Work, Law, Academics, etc. The Department also offers a Certificate Course in Medical Sociology.

Well-known Indian Sociologists from Bengaluru- Dr. N. Jayaram, Dr. Y Narayana Chetty, and Dr. Chandan Gowda are Alumni of the Department.


The Department of Sociology endeavors to educate and empower students to become Informed, Effective, and Responsible citizens, who embrace diversity in their Communities, Society, and the World.


The Department of Sociology intends to conscientize students about the social realities, issues, and problems of Contemporary Society. It also attempts to orient students with skills to manage their social and professional life.


SL. No. Name of the Supervisor Designation Area of Specialisation PhD Scholars
No records found

PHD Scholars

Research Fellows

Update soon.

Visiting Researchers

Update soon.

Adjunct Faculty

Update soon.

Post-Doctoral Researcher

Update soon.

All rights reserved © 2023 St Joseph's University, Bengaluru